horse feathers.

I hadn’t heard of these guys until 2 weeks ago when I was told that they were coming to Grand Rapids. So being in this new music kick, I thought I would give them a shot.

So, I saw them in concert at Founders Brewing Co. a week ago and boy oh boy do they know how to put on a show. When I got there with my friend Kate and her co-worker Corey, we got a beer and sat on the floor, indian-style along with about 50 other people. Now having been to Founders quite a few times, I will say this was a first and I was quite happy with it.

The stage looked like a playground that folk artists dream about, there were guitars, violins, a cello, tambourines, a keyboard. All it was missing was a flannel shirt and a some Buddy Holly glasses (which came on stage later). The first band that played was called Hello Mountain and consisted of Nathan Crockett and Catherine O’Dell. They were bouncing from instrument to instrument and it was beautiful the entire time.

Then when Justin came on stage, we were told that we needed to stand up and move in close and it was a pleasure to get closer to the amazing sounds they were making as a band. I was standing there, surrounded by friends, swaying back and forth to the sounds of the violin and cello (even the saw made an appearance), Sam Copper playing percussion and banjo so well and the way that Catherine and Justin’s voices played with each other made a sound I would not soon forget.

Afterwards at a place like Founders you get a chance to meet the band, and they are class acts, Nathan even helped me look for Catherine for 5 minutes so I could get the vinyl of the new album (Thistled Spring; go buy it now) signed by them all.

I am now a fan of Horse Feathers and will not be missing them the next time they are around these parts.

Cheers,

Dom

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment